top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrian.runs

999 emergency

26.2


08/01/12

3rd week of our training and it’s a 6 miler tonight with tweed striders,our local running club.

Girls are at grannies for tea so once I’ve picked Debs up from work, it’s home a quick tidy up and changed to go running.

As we meet up with the rest of the people at striders they all congratulate us on being selected for the ASICS marathon challenge and are admiring our new kit. The road hawks are on their 5th outing now and are going well.

Route explained and off we go. Our plan has us down for doing an easy mile warm up then 4 miles quicker and 1 mile easy to cool off, this run will be perfect 👌.

We are almost 2 miles into our quicker pace and feeling like it’s all going to plan but ahead we can see a few of our running group stopped and crowded around someone on the ground. As we get closer it’s a guy in a suit. We stop to see if we can assist.

Having been a volunteer Coastguard rescue officer for 17 years I’ve experienced many different incidents and have had to administer first aid regularly during that time.

It’s hard to explain but it just comes like second nature. With the help of a young lad who’s stopped I start assessing the gentleman while another by stander phoned “999 Emergency “to the ambulance service.

Other than a rather large bump to his head , some concussion and a little cut he’s ok. Debs and Lucy, feeling that they are unable to help go on, but I stay with him until the ambulance arrives almost 20 mins later. Once handed over I carry on my run but need to re-route so that I can make sure the kids are picked up in time so I cut the run short by a mile.

As much as it’s important to get all my training done, it’s also important not ignore everything else. This guy needed help and I could give it! There are other days I will make up the miles and I’d like to think if that was me, Debs, my mum or dad that someone would stop and help. Thankfully the gentleman made a full recovery after a night in hospital.


Back from Tuesday nights training and we discussed our weeks training through with Mel in our group chat and she suggests a gym session this week. We thought that this might be instead of one of our easy runs but Mel wasn’t letting us off that easily and added it in in addition to our 4 planned runs in the week! She drew up some circuits and added a couple of 1 mile runs in to make sure I could catch up for those missed miles. Decision made we head off to bed with the alarm set for 5:40am again.....


My Motto has always been

“ it’s nice to be nice “







34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page